Arabic CalligraphyIslamic ArchitectureIslamic CoinsOriental RugsSearchHOME
Islamic Arts and Architecture Organization
Almoravid and Almohad Dynasties in Maghreb
1036 - 1147 The rise of Almoravid dynasty.
1061 - 1106 Yusuf Ibn Tashfin, sovereign in Marrakech.
1086 Almoravids expanded their dynasty to include Al-Andalus.
1107 - 1143 Ali Ibn Yusuf succeeded Yusuf Ibn Tashfin in Ifriqiya.
1121 - 1128 Muhammad Ibn Tumart al-Mahdi, founder of the Almohad doctrine, established the state of Almohad.
1128 - 1163 Abd al-Mumin succeeded Muhammad Ibn Tumart al-Mahdi in Ifriqiya.
1143 - 1147 Tashufin Ibn Ali, last of the Almoravids.
1163 - 1184 Abu Yaqub Yusuf became Caliph for Almohads.
1184 - 1199 Abu Yaqub Yaqub al-Mansour succeeded Abu Yaqub Yusuf.
1269 Marrakech was conquered by the Merinids.
  Prophet and Caliphs
  Mikka and Medina
  The Ummayads
  First Dynasty: Damascus
  Last Dynsaty: Al-Andalus
  The Abbasids
  First Dynasty: Baghdad
  Last Dynasty: Baghdad
  Tulunid and Fatimid
  Seljuks and Ayyubids
  Ifriqiya and Sicily
  Ifriqiya and Sicily
  Almoravid and Almohad
  Al-Andalus (Spain)
  The Mughals
  The Safavids
  The Ottomans