Arabic CalligraphyIslamic ArchitectureIslamic CoinsOriental RugsSearchHOME
Islamic Arts and Architecture Organization
The Great Abbasids Dynasty in Baghdad
750 - 945 The rise of the Great Abbasids dynasty.
750 - 754 Abu al-Abbas Al-Saffah named Caliph in Kufa.
754 - 775 Abu Ja'far al-Mansour became Caliph in Baghdad.
786 - 809 Harun al-Rashid succeeded Abu Ja'far al-Mansour in Baghdad.
800 De facto emancipation of Ifriqiya .
813 - 833 Al-Mamun became Caliph.
813 - 817 The Caliph Al-Mamun took up residence in Merv.
830 Khurasan of the Tahirids proclaimed its independence.
833 - 842 Al-Mutasim, Caliph in Samarra.
847 - 861 Al-Mutawakkil succeeded Al-Mutasim in Samarra.
868 Ibn Tulun proclaimed Egypt as an independent country.
870 - 892 Al-Mutamid, Caliph in Samarra, later transferred the capital of the Abbasids to Baghdad.
908 - 932 Al-Muktadir, Caliph in Baghdad.
945 - 1031 The Caliphs under the tutelage of the Buyid Emirs.
  Prophet and Caliphs
  Mikka and Medina
  The Ummayads
  First Dynasty: Damascus
  Last Dynsaty: Al-Andalus
  The Abbasids
  First Dynasty: Baghdad
  Last Dynasty: Baghdad
  Tulunid and Fatimid
  Seljuks and Ayyubids
  Ifriqiya and Sicily
  Ifriqiya and Sicily
  Almoravid and Almohad
  Al-Andalus (Spain)
  The Mughals
  The Safavids
  The Ottomans